

Local Agency Formation Commission of Santa Clara County

777 North First Street Suite 410 San Jose, CA 95112

SantaClaraLAFCO.org

Commissioners

Sylvia Arenas Jim Beall Rosemary Kamei Yoriko Kishimoto Otto Lee Russ Melton Terry Trumbull **Alternate Commissioners**

Domingo Candelas Helen Chapman Cindy Chavez Teresa O'Neill Mark Turner

Executive Officer Neelima Palacherla

LAFCO MEETING MINUTES WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 7, 2024

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order at 1:17 p.m.

1. ROLL CALL

Commissioners

- Russ Melton, Chairperson
- Sylvia Arenas, Vice Chairperson (Absent)
- Jim Beall
- Rosemary Kamei (Arrived at 1:21 p.m.)
- Yoriko Kishimoto (Absent)
- Otto Lee (Arrived at 1:22 p.m.)
- Terry Trumbull

Alternate Commissioners

- Domingo Candelas (Absent)
- Cindy Chavez (Absent)
- Helen Chapman (Voting for Yoriko Kishimoto, arrived at 1:21 p.m.)
- Teresa O'Neill
- Mark Turner

Staff

- Neelima Palacherla, Executive Officer
- Dunia Noel, Assistant Executive Officer
- Emmanuel Abello, Associate Analyst
- Sonia Humphrey, Clerk
- Mala Subramanian, Counsel

2. PUBLIC COMMENTS

There were none.

3. APPROVE CONSENT CALENDAR

MOTION: Beall SECOND: Trumbull

AYES: Beall, Chapman, Kamei, Lee, Melton, Trumbull

NOES: None ABSTAIN: None ABSENT: Arenas

Commission Action: The Commission approved the Consent Calendar, including

items #4, #8, #9 and #10.

*4. APPROVED ON CONSENT: APPROVE MINUTES OF DECEMBER 6, 2023 LAFCO MEETING

The Commission approved the minutes of December 6, 2023 meeting.

ITEMS FOR ACTION / INFORMATION

5. UPDATE ON IMPLEMENTATION OF RECOMMENDATIONS FROM LAFCO'S COUNTYWIDE FIRE SERVICE REVIEW

MOTION: Beall SECOND: Kamei

AYES: Beall, Chapman, Kamei, Lee, Melton, Trumbull

NOES: None ABSTAIN: None ABSENT: Arenas

Commission Action: Accepted report.

6. UPDATE ON THE COMPREHENSIVE REVIEW AND UPDATE OF LAFCO POLICIES

MOTION: Beall SECOND: Trumbull

AYES: Beall, Chapman, Kamei, Lee, Melton, Trumbull

NOES: None ABSTAIN: None ABSENT: Arenas

Commission Action: Accepted report.

7. FINANCE COMMITTEE FOR FISCAL YEAR 2024-2025

MOTION: Trumbull SECOND: Kamei

AYES: Beall, Chapman, Kamei, Lee, Melton, Trumbull

NOES: None ABSTAIN: None ABSENT: Arenas

Commission Action: Established the Finance Committee composed of Chairperson Melton, Commissioner Beall and Alternate Commissioner Chapman to work with staff to develop and recommend the proposed FY 2024-2025 LAFCO work plan and budget that will be considered by the full commission.

*8. APPROVED ON CONSENT: SECOND AMENDMENT TO SERVICES AGREEMENT WITH CHAVAN & ASSOCIATES FOR INDEPENDENT PROFESSIONAL AUDITING SERVICES

Commission Action: Authorized the LAFCO Executive Officer to amend the Chavan & Associates, LLP service agreement to (a) extend the agreement term to January 1, 2027, (b) included an additional \$38,250 in the contract, for a total contracted amount not to exceed \$103,750, and (c) designated Paul Pham as the Contractor's Project Manager.

*9. APPROVED ON CONSENT: CALAFCO RELATED ACTIVITIES

9.1 2024 CALAFCO Staff Workshop

Commission Action: Authorized staff to attend the 2024 CALAFCO Staff Workshop and authorized travel expenses funded by the LAFCO budget.

*10. APPROVED ON CONSENT: EXECUTIVE OFFICER'S REPORT

Commission Action: Accepted the report.

- 10.1 Presentation on LAFCO to Leadership Sunnyvale
- 10.2 Bay Area LAFCOS Meeting
- 10.3 Presentation on LAFCO to Leadership Sunnyvale
- 10.4 Santa Clara County Association of Planning Officials Meeting

11. COMMISSIONER REPORTS

12. NEWSPAPER ARTICLES / NEWSLETTERS

13. WRITTEN CORRESPONDENCE

CLOSED SESSION

14. PERFORMANCE EVALUATION

Public Employee Performance Evaluation (Government Code §54957)

Title: LAFCO Executive Officer

The Commission adjourned to Closed Session at 1:34 p.m.

15. REPORT OUT OF CLOSED SESSION

The Commission reconvened at 2:17 p.m., with no reportable action.

16. **ADJOURN**

The Commission adjourned at 2:18 p.m., to the next regular LAFCO meeting on April 3, 2024, at 1:15 p.m., in the Board of Supervisors' Chambers, 70 West Hedding Street, San Jose.

Approved on April 3, 2024.

DocuSigned by: Russ Melton

Russ Melton, Chairperson

Local Agency Formation Commission of Santa Clara County

Sonia Humphry Sonia Humphrey, LAFCO Clerk