

Local Agency Formation Commission of Santa Clara County

777 North First Street Suite 410 San Jose, CA 95112

SantaClaraLAFCO.org

Commissioners Sylvia Arenas Jim Beall Rosemary Kamei Yoriko Kishimoto Otto Lee Terry Trumbull Mark Turner

Alternate Commissioners

Pamela Campos Helen Chapman Betty Duong Zach Hilton Teresa O'Neill

Executive Officer Neelima Palacherla

LAFCO MEETING MINUTES WEDNESDAY, DECEMBER 4, 2024

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order at 1:15 p.m.

1. ROLL CALL

Commissioners

- Russ Melton, Chairperson
- Sylvia Arenas, Vice Chairperson
- Jim Beall
- Rosemary Kamei (Arrived at 1:26 p.m.)
- Yoriko Kishimoto
- Otto Lee (Absent)
- Terry Trumbull

Alternate Commissioners

- Domingo Candelas (Left at 2:15 p.m.)
- Helen Chapman
- Cindy Chavez (Absent)
- Teresa O'Neill
- Mark Turner (Left at 2:15 p.m.)

Staff

- Neelima Palacherla, Executive Officer
- Dunia Noel, Assistant Executive Officer
- Emmanuel Abello, Analyst
- Sonia Humphrey, Clerk
- Mala Subramanian, Counsel

2. PUBLIC COMMENTS

There were none.

3. APPROVE CONSENT CALENDAR

MOTION: Trumbull	SECOND: Kishimoto			
AYES: Arenas, Beall, Kamei, Kishimoto, Melton, Trumbull				
NOES: None	ABSTAIN: None	ABSENT: Lee		

Commission Action: The Commission removed Item #7 from the consent calendar and approved the Consent Calendar, including items #4, #6, #8 and #9.

4. TAKEN ON CONSENT: APPROVE MINUTES OF OCTOBER 2, 2024 LAFCO MEETING

The Commission approved the minutes of the October 2, 2024 meeting.

PUBLIC HEARING

5. COMPREHENSIVE REVIEW AND UPDATE OF LAFCO POLICIES

MOTION: Beall	SECOND: Trumbull			
AYES: Arenas, Beall, Kamei, Kishimoto, Melton, Trumbull				
NOES: None	ABSTAIN: None	ABSENT: Lee		

Commission Action:

- 1. The Commission adopted the proposed updated Chapter 2: Sphere of Influence (SOI) Policies as recommended by the LAFCO Policies Ad-Hoc Committee.
- 2. The Commission adopted the proposed updated Chapter 3: Urban Service Area (USA) Policies as recommended by the LAFCO Policies Ad-Hoc Committee.
- 3. The Commission adopted the proposed updated Chapter 4: Annexation, Detachment, and Reorganization Policies as recommended by the LAFCO Policies Ad-Hoc Committee.
- 4. The Commission considered Policy # 5.2.4: "LAFCO Determination of Exemptions" and adopted the proposed updated Chapter 5: Out-of-Agency Services by Contract (OASC) policies, as recommended by the LAFCO Policies Ad-Hoc Committee.
- 5. The Commission adopted the proposed updated Chapter 6: Island Annexation Policies as recommended by the LAFCO Policies Ad-Hoc Committee.
- 6. The Commission adopted the proposed updated Chapter 7: Agricultural Land Preservation and Mitigation Policies as recommended by the LAFCO Policies Ad-Hoc Committee.
- 7. The Commission adopted the proposed updated Chapter 8: Urban Growth Boundaries (UGB) Policies as recommended by the LAFCO Policies Ad-Hoc Committee.
- 8. The Commission rescinded the existing Boundary Agreement Lines Policies, and the Policies for Gilroy Agricultural Lands as they are no longer applicable.

9. The Commission determined that the proposed update of LAFCO policies is not subject to the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) pursuant to CEQA Guidelines §15060(c)(2) and §15060(c)(3).

ITEMS FOR ACTION / INFORMATION

6. TAKEN ON CONSENT: ADOPTION OF SCHEDULE OF 2025 LAFCO MEETINGS

Commission Action: The Commission adopted the schedule of LAFCO meetings and application filing deadlines for 2025.

7. APPOINTMENT OF 2025 LAFCO CHAIRPERSON AND VICE-CHAIRPERSON

MOTION: Beall	SECOND: Trumbull			
AYES: Arenas, Beall, Kamei, Kishimoto, Melton, Trumbull				
NOES: None	ABSTAIN: None	ABSENT: Lee		

Commission Action: The Commission appointed Vice Chair Sylvia Arenas to serve as Chairperson for 2025; and Commissioner Rosemary Kamei to serve as Vice-Chairperson for 2025. Vice Chair Arenas thanked Chair Melton for his outstanding leadership in helping to accomplish the LAFCO policies update. She also commended him for fostering an environment where every meeting felt like a safe space, allowing for spirited discussions and diverse opinions to be shared. Vice Chair Arenas and Commissioner Lee presented Chair Melton with a certificate of commendation in recognition of his exceptional leadership.

8. TAKEN ON CONSENT: EXECUTIVE OFFICER'S REPORT

Commission Action: Accepted the report.

9. TAKEN ON CONSENT: CALAFCO RELATED ACTIVITIES Commission Action: Accepted the report.

10. COMMISSIONER REPORTS

There were none.

11. NEWSPAPER ARTICLES / NEWSLETTERS

11.1 The Sphere (October 2024)

12. WRITTEN CORRESPONDENCE

There were none.

CLOSED SESSION

13. PERFORMANCE EVALUATION

Public Employee Performance Evaluation (Government Code §54957)

Title: LAFCO Executive Officer

The Commission adjourned to Closed Session at 2:15 p.m.

14. REPORT OF CLOSED SESSION

The Commission reconvened at 3:08 p.m., with no reportable action.

15. ADJOURN

The Commission adjourned at 3:08 p.m., to the next regular LAFCO meeting on February 5, 2025, at 1:15 p.m., in the Board of Supervisors' Chambers, 70 West Hedding Street, San Jose.

Approved on February 5, 2025

DocuSigned by: Sylvia Arenas D017E7C66EC1415.

Sylvia Arenas, Chairperson Local Agency Formation Commission of Santa Clara County

Sonia Humphry

PAGE 4 OF 4