

### Local Agency Formation Commission of Santa Clara County

777 North First Street Suite 410 San Jose, CA 95112

SantaClaraLAFCO.org

#### Commissioners

Sylvia Arenas Jim Beall Rosemary Kamei Yoriko Kishimoto Otto Lee Terry Trumbull Mark Turner

#### **Alternate Commissioners**

Pamela Campos Helen Chapman Betty Duong Zach Hilton Teresa O'Neill

**Executive Officer** Neelima Palacherla

## **NOTICE OF PROTEST HEARING**

**DATED: APRIL 8, 2025** 

# SOUTH SANTA CLARA COUNTY FIRE PROTECTION DISTRICT DISSOLUTION AND SANTA CLARA COUNTY CENTRAL FIRE PROTECTION DISTRICT ANNEXATION / SPHERE OF INFLUENCE AMENDMENT

The Local Agency Formation Commission of Santa Clara County (LAFCO) will hold a public hearing to receive written protests regarding a reorganization proposal involving the dissolution of the South Santa Clara County Fire Protection District (SCFD), and concurrent annexation of its territory to the Santa Clara County Central Fire Protection District (CCFD). The LAFCO Executive Officer will conduct the protest hearing.

Date: Wednesday, May 7, 2025

Time: **9:30 AM** 

Location: County Government Center, Room No. 157

70 West Hedding Street, San Jose

On February 6, 2025, LAFCO received an application initiated by the two agencies – CCFD and SCFD – adopting substantially similar resolutions for the reorganization of the two districts that includes dissolution of the SCFD, and concurrent annexation of its territory to CCFD; and a Sphere of Influence (SOI) amendment for the CCFD to include the SCFD SOI.

SCFD's boundary encompasses 288± square miles of unincorporated areas surrounding the cities of Morgan Hill and Gilroy, and extending to the Santa Clara-Santa Cruz County line in the southwest, and the Santa Clara-San Benito County line in the south; including the unincorporated area known as Coyote Valley in the north, and portions of the Diablo range to the east.

The purpose of the reorganization is to address longstanding structural challenges associated with maintaining an adequate and appropriate level of fire protection for SCFD territories, including addressing SCFD's structural operating deficit.

At a public hearing on April 2, 2025, LAFCO approved the reorganization proposal subject to terms and conditions, as specified in LAFCO Resolution 2025-01. This resolution, which includes a map of the current CCFD and SCFD boundaries, is available for your review at the LAFCO office and on the LAFCO website at: <a href="https://www.santaclaralafco.org/protesthearing">www.santaclaralafco.org/protesthearing</a>.

Written protests against this reorganization may be filed by any owner of land within the SCFD territory <u>OR</u> by any registered voter in the SCFD territory.

The protest form and more information on the requirements for a valid written protest are available on the LAFCO website at <a href="https://www.santaclaralafco.org/protesthearing">www.santaclaralafco.org/protesthearing</a>. Alternatively, you may contact the LAFCO Office to obtain the form.

Written protests may be mailed or delivered to the Santa Clara LAFCO Office at 777 North First Street, Suite 410, San Jose, CA 95112. Written protests submitted by mail must be received by LAFCO no later than the conclusion of the protest hearing. Alternatively, written protests may be submitted to the LAFCO Executive Officer at the protest hearing.

If you have questions, please email <u>LAFCO@ceo.sccgov.org</u>, or call (408) 993-4705.

For more information about Santa Clara LAFCO, please visit <a href="SantaClaraLAFCO.org">SantaClaraLAFCO.org</a>.