

LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION OF SANTA CLARA COUNTY MINUTES WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 2, 2011

CALL TO ORDER

Chairperson Liz Kniss called the meeting to order at 1:23 p.m.

1. ROLL CALL

The following Commissioners and Alternate Commissioners were present:

- Chairperson Liz Kniss
- Commissioner Pete Constant
- Commissioner Mike Wasserman
- Commissioner Susan Vicklund-Wilson
- Alternate Commissioner Al Pinheiro
- Alternate Commissioner Terry Trumbull

The following Commissioners and Alternate Commissioners were absent:

- Commissioner Margaret Abe-Koga
- Alternate Commissioner George Shirakawa
- Alternate Commissioner Sam Liccardo

The following staff members were present:

- LAFCO Executive Officer Neelima Palacherla
- LAFCO Analyst Dunia Noel
- LAFCO Counsel Mala Subramanian

2. PUBLIC COMMENT

There were no pubic comments.

3. APPROVE THE MINUTES OF DECEMBER 15, 2010 LAFCO MEETING

The Commission approved the minutes of December 15, 2010 LAFCO meeting, as submitted.

Motion: Mike Wasserman Second: Susan Vicklund-Wilson

MOTION PASSED

AYES: Pete Constant, Liz Kniss, Mike Wasserman, Susan Vicklund-Wilson NOES: None

ABSENT: Margaret Abe-Koga

4. EL CAMINO HOSPITAL DISTRICT AND SERVICES OUTSIDE ITS BOUNDARY

Chairperson Kniss requested the continuation of the item to the April 20, 2011 meeting.

Motion: Pete Constant Second: Mike Wasserman

MOTION PASSED

AYES: Pete Constant, Liz Kniss, Mike Wasserman, Susan Vicklund-Wilson

NOES: None

ABSENT: Margaret Abe-Koga

5. PUBLIC AND ALTERNATE PUBLIC MEMBER APPOINTMENT PROCESS

The Commission approved Option 1 in the staff report with the intention to reappoint Public Member Susan Vicklund-Wilson and Alternate Public Member Terry Trumbull to new 4-year terms (May 2011 to May 2015).

Motion: Pete ConstantSecond: Mike Wasserman

MOTION PASSED

AYES:Pete Constant, Liz Kniss, Mike WassermanNOES:NoneABSTAIN: Susan Vicklund-WilsonABSENT:Margaret Abe-Koga

6. EXECUTIVE OFFICER'S REPORT

6.1 BUDGET SUBCOMMITTEE FOR FISCAL YEAR 2011-2012

The Commission established the Budget Subcommittee, composed of Commissioners Constant and Wasserman, to develop and recommend the proposed FY 2011-2012 budget for consideration by the full Commission.

MOTION PASSED

AYES: Pete Constant, Liz Kniss, Mike Wasserman, Susan Vicklund-WilsonNOES: NoneABSENT: Margaret Abe-Koga

6.2 UPDATE ON 2011 COUNTYWIDE WATER SERVICE REVIEW

Ms. Noel presented the staff report.

The report was accepted on Commission consensus.

6.3 UPDATE ON 2010 COUNTYWIDE FIRE SERVICE REVIEW

Ms. Noel presented the staff report.

The report was accepted on Commission consensus.

6.4 CALAFCO STAFF WORKSHOP IN VENTURA: APRIL 6-8, 2011

The Commission briefly discussed the CALAFCO workshop and conference. Commissioner Wilson stated that the 2011 CALAFCO Annual Conference will be held in Napa on August 31 to September 2, 2011. Ms. Palacherla reported that Santa Clara LAFCO staff will coordinate two sessions at the CALAFCO staff workshop.

The Commission authorized staff to attend the 2011 CALAFCO Staff Workshop in Ventura (April 6-8, 2011) and authorized travel expenses funded by LAFCO budget.

Motion: Pete Constant Second: Susan Vicklund-Wilson

Local Agency Formation Commission of Santa Clara County Wednesday, February 2, 2011

MOTION PASSED

AYES:Pete Constant, Liz Kniss, Mike Wasserman, Susan Vicklund-WilsonNOES:NoneABSENT:Margaret Abe-Koga

7. COMMISSIONER REPORTS

Commissioner Wilson announced that she will be attending the CALAFCO Board of Directors Strategic Retreat and Board Meeting in Irvine, CA on February 17-18, 2011.

8. NEWSPAPER ARTICLES/NEWSLETTERS

The Commission noted the newspaper articles.

9. WRITTEN CORRESPONDENCE

There was no written correspondence.

10. PENDING APPLICATIONS / UPCOMING PROJECTS

The Commission noted the pending applications.

11. ADJOURN

Adjourned at 1:38 p.m. to the next meeting on Wednesday, April 20, 2011 in Isaac Newton Senter Auditorium, County Government Center, 70 West Hedding Street, San Jose, California.

Approved:

Liz Kniss, Chairperson Local Agency Formation Commission of Santa Clara County

By: _____ Emmanuel Abello, LAFCO Clerk