

# LAFCO MEETING MINUTES WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 5, 2014

## **CALL TO ORDER**

**Chairperson Susan Vicklund Wilson** called the meeting to order at 1:15 p.m.

## 1. ROLL CALL

The following commissioners were present:

- Chairperson Susan Vicklund Wilson
- Commissioner Cindy Chavez
- Commissioner Sequoia Hall
- Commissioner Margaret Abe-Koga
- **Commissioner Linda J. LeZotte** (arrived at 1:30 p.m.)
- Commissioner Susan Vicklund Wilson
- Commissioner Mike Wasserman
- Commissioner Johnny Khamis
- **Alternate Commissioner Yoriko Kishimoto** (voted in place of Commissioner Linda LeZotte)
- Alternate Commissioner Terry Trumbull
- Alternate Commissioner Cat Tucker

The following staff members were present:

- LAFCO Executive Officer Neelima Palacherla
- LAFCO Assistant Executive Officer Dunia Noel
- LAFCO Counsel Mala Subramanian

#### 2. PUBLIC COMMENTS

There were no public comments.

## 3. APPROVE MINUTES OF DECEMBER 4, 2013 LAFCO MEETING

The Commission approved the minutes of December 4, 2013 LAFCO meeting.

Motion: Chavez Second: Khamis

AYES: Chavez, Khamis, Kishimoto, Abe-Koga, Wasserman, Wilson

NOES: None ABSTAIN: None ABSENT: Hall

**MOTION PASSED** 

70 West Hedding Street • 11th Floor, East Wing • San Jose, CA 95110 • (408) 299-5127 • www.santaclara.lafco.ca.gov

#### 4. OUT OF ORDER\*

# 5. CONSENT CALENDAR: CUPERTINO SANITARY DISTRICT (PROSPECT-BLUE HILLS)

The Commission adopted **Resolution No. 2014-01**, approving the annexation to the Cupertino Sanitary District of Area 1 containing approximately 5.102 acres (APNs 366-06-011, 366-06-012, and 366-06-043) and Area 2 containing approximately 0.799 acres (APN 366-06-025) located in the City of Saratoga in the vicinity of Prospect Road and Blue Hills Lane.

Motion: Wasserman Second: Abe-Koga

AYES: Chavez, Hall, Khamis, Kishimoto, Abe-Koga, Wasserman, Wilson

ABSTAIN: None ABSENT: Hall

MOTION PASSED

## 6. UPDATE ON IMPLEMENTATION OF RECOMMENDATIONS FROM LAFCO'S SPECIAL DISTRICTS SERVICE REVIEW: PHASE 2 REPORT

Dunia Noel, LAFCO Analyst, presented the staff report.

The Commission accepted the report.

Motion: Wasserman Second: Chavez

AYES: Chavez, Hall, Khamis, Kishimoto, Abe-Koga, Wasserman, Wilson

ABSTAIN: None ABSENT: None

MOTION PASSED

## 7. PERFORMANCE EVALUATIONS OF THE LAFCO EXECUTIVE OFFICER AND LAFCO STAFF

Mala Subramanian, LAFCO Counsel, presented the staff report.

In response to an inquiry by **Commissioner Chavez**, Ms. Subramanian advised that the current County Employees Management Association (CEMA) Employee Appraisal Form contains a section for development of future year goals which the Commission may discuss.

The Commission approved the proposed procedure for LAFCO Executive Officer performance evaluation.

Motion: Wasserman Second: Chavez

AYES: Chavez, Hall, Khamis, Kishimoto, Abe-Koga, Wasserman, Wilson

ABSTAIN: None ABSENT: None

MOTION PASSED

#### 8. EXECUTIVE OFFICER'S REPORT

## 8.1 FINANCE COMMITTEE FOR FISCAL YEAR 2014-2015 LAFCO BUDGET

Ms. Palacherla, Executive Officer, presented the staff report.

In response to an inquiry by the Chairperson, **Commissioner Wasserman** declined his reappointment on the Committee in view of his other responsibilities. **Commissioners Hall, Khamis** and **Abe Koga** expressed interest to serve on the Committee.

The Commission established the Finance Committee composed of Commissioners Hall, Khamis and Abe-Koga to work with staff to develop and recommend the proposed FY 2014-2015 LAFCO budget for consideration by the full Commission.

Motion: Wasserman Second: Abe-Koga

AYES: Chavez, Hall, Khamis, Kishimoto, Abe-Koga, Wasserman, Wilson

ABSTAIN: None ABSENT: None

**MOTION PASSED** 

#### 8.2 UPDATE ON SARATOGA FIRE PROTECTION DISTRICT SPECIAL STUDY

Ms. Palacherla presented the staff report.

#### 8.3 2014 CALAFCO STAFF WORKSHOP

Ms. Palacherla presented the staff report.

The Commission authorized staff to attend the 2014 CALAFCO Staff Workshop and authorized travel expenses funded by the LAFCO budget.

Motion: Kishimoto Second: Khamis

AYES: Chavez, Hall, Khamis, Kishimoto, Abe-Koga, Wasserman, Wilson

ABSTAIN: None ABSENT: None

MOTION PASSED

## 9. SB 751: NEW LAW REQUIRES AGENCIES TO PUBLICLY ANNOUNCE VOTES

Ms. Subramanian presented the staff report.

#### 10. PENDING APPLICATIONS

Ms. Palacherla reported the status of pending applications.

### 11. COMMISSIONER REPORTS

There were none.

## 12. NEWSPAPER ARTICLES / NEWSLETTERS

There were none.

#### 13. WRITTEN CORRESPONDENCE

The **Chairperson** noted a memorandum from the City Clerk of San Jose, dated February 3, 2014, relating to the appointment of Alternate Commissioner Khamis as LAFCO Commissioner and Commissioner Pete Constant as Alternate LAFCO Commissioner.

# \*4. TAKEN OUT OF ORDER – CERTIFICATES OF APPRECIATION FOR OUTSTANDING SERVICE TO LAFCO OF SANTA CLARA COUNTY

The Chairperson presented certificates of appreciation for outstanding service to the following: Valerie Altham, Graphic Designer, Santa Clara County Office of the County Executive; Greg Bazhaw, GIS Administrator, Santa Clara County Planning Office; and, Steve Borgstrom, GIS Technician, Santa Clara County Planning Office.

## 14. ADJOURN

The meeting was adjourned at 1:34 p.m. to the next meeting on Wednesday, April 2, 2014 in the Board Meeting Chambers, County Government Center, 70 West Hedding Street, San Jose, California.

Approved:
Susan Vicklund Wilson, Chairperson
Local Agency Formation Commission of Santa Clara County
By:
Emmanuel Abello, LAFCO Clerk