

Local Agency Formation Commission of Santa Clara County

777 North First Street

San Jose, CA 95112

SantaClaraLAFCO.org

Suite 410

Sylvia Arenas Jim Beall Rosemary Kamei Yoriko Kishimoto Otto Lee Terry Trumbull Mark Turner

Commissioners

Alternate Commissioners

Pamela Campos Helen Chapman Betty Duong Zach Hilton Teresa O'Neill

Executive Officer Neelima Palacherla

April 7, 2025

TO:INDEPENDENT SPECIAL DISTRICT BOARD MEMBERS &
MANAGERS/CLERKSFROM:NEELIMA PALACHERLA, LAFCO EXECUTIVE OFFICERRE:NOTICE OF INDEPENDENT SPECIAL DISTRICT SELECTION
COMMITTEE MEETING

SELECTION OF SPECIAL DISTRICT MEMBERS TO SERVE ON LAFCO

The Local Agency Formation Commission of Santa Clara County (LAFCO) will convene a meeting of the Independent Special District Selection Committee (ISDSC).

Meeting Date:	May 14, 2025
Time:	10:00 AM
Location:	Santa Clara Valley Water District Board Room 5750 Almaden Expressway, San Jose, CA 95118

The purpose of the ISDSC meeting is to appoint special district members to serve on LAFCO -

- One regular member to serve a new 4-year term from June 2025 to May 2029
- One alternate member to serve a new 4-year term from June 2025 to May 2029

The agenda for the ISDSC meeting is attached.

This memorandum provides formal notice of the ISDSC meeting and includes information on the selection process of special district members.

SPECIAL DISTRICT REPRESENTATION ON LAFCO

In December 2012, LAFCO adopted Resolution No. 2012-07, expanding its membership to include two special district members and one alternate special district member. As agreed upon by the Special Districts Association of Santa Clara County, the Santa Clara Valley Water District (SCVWD) appoints one special district member to LAFCO; and the ISDSC appoints the second member, and an alternate member to serve in place of the two regular special district members.

Currently, the ISDSC has appointed Yoriko Kishimoto as the regular member, and Helen Chapman as the alternate member; both of their terms on LAFCO end in May 2025.

ISDSC MEMBERSHIP

The ISDSC membership is comprised of presiding officers of the following 17 independent special districts in Santa Clara County:

- 1. Aldercroft Heights County Water District
- 2. Burbank Sanitary District
- 3. Cupertino Sanitary District
- 4. El Camino Healthcare District
- 5. Guadalupe Coyote Resource Conservation District
- 6. Lake Canyon Community Services District
- 7. Lion's Gate Community Services District
- 8. Loma Prieta Resource Conservation District
- 9. Midpeninsula Regional Open Space District
- 10. Purissima Hills Water District
- 11. Rancho Rinconada Recreation and Park District
- 12. San Martin County Water District
- 13. Santa Clara Valley Open Space Authority
- 14. Santa Clara Valley Water District
- 15. Saratoga Cemetery District
- 16. Saratoga Fire Protection District
- 17. South Santa Clara Valley Memorial District

If the presiding officer of an independent special district is unable to attend the ISDSC meeting, the legislative body of the district may appoint one of its members to attend and vote in place of the presiding officer. District managers or other district staff members may <u>not</u> vote.

ISDSC members representing a majority (9) of the independent special districts shall constitute a quorum. The ISDSC shall not conduct its business without a quorum of its membership.

SPECIAL DISTRICT MEMBERS SELECTION PROCESS

Specifically, the ISDSC will select one member to serve in each of the following two positions:

- One regular special district member
- One alternate special district member

The alternate member will vote or serve in place of the regular member if either of the two regular special district members is absent or does not qualify to participate in a meeting.

A brief description of LAFCO and the unique role and responsibilities of a LAFCO commissioner is attached.

At the ISDSC meeting, any member of an independent special district governing board may submit nominations for the special district member positions. The nominees must be elected or appointed special district officers residing within the county but must not be members of the legislative body of a city or county. Each nominee will be given an opportunity to make a brief statement.

The selection will occur through a roll call vote of the members of the ISDSC (i.e., to each presiding officer or voting delegate of independent special districts) present at the meeting. Each member of the ISDSC is entitled to one vote. The ISDSC is encouraged to make selections that fairly represent the diversity of the independent special districts in the county, with respect to population and geography.

If only one nomination is received for a position, that nominee is selected. The nominee who receives the majority of the votes cast is selected. If no nominee receives a majority of the votes cast, a run-off election between the two nominees who receive the greatest number of votes is held. After votes are tallied, the results will be announced.

TERMS OF OFFICE FOR LAFCO MEMBERS

The term of office for a LAFCO commissioner is 4 years and until the appointment and qualification of a successor. There are no term limits.

A member's term of office on LAFCO will cease immediately if he or she ceases to be on the special district board. The statute also provides that a member may be removed at any time and without cause upon a majority vote of the ISDSC.

DISQUALIFICATION ON PROPOSALS AFFECTING THE DISTRICT

Pursuant to Government Code §56332(d), a special district member is not automatically disqualified from acting on a proposal affecting the member's special district. However, the statute allows that the ISDSC may, at the time of appointment of a member or alternate, specify that the member is disqualified from voting on proposals affecting the member's district.

FOR MORE INFORMATION

Please visit the LAFCO website at www.SantaClaraLAFCO.org. If you have any questions about this process, please email <u>LAFCO@ceo.sccgov.org</u>.

REQUEST TO INDEPENDENT SPECIAL DISTRICT MANAGERS AND/OR CLERKS

- Distribute this Notice to All Members of the District Board
- Provide the name of the district's Presiding Officer or the name of the district member appointed by the legislative body of the district to attend and vote in place of the presiding officer to <u>LAFCO@ceo.sccgov.org</u> before May 7, 2025.

ATTACHMENTS

- ISDSC Meeting Agenda
- LAFCO and Role of LAFCO Commissioners